Current Issue: Friday, November 13th, 2020

Subscribe to the Interrobang Newsletter

Interrobang Archives

Ontario fails to podium at CCAA

Rozin Abbas | Interrobang | Sports | March 30th, 2009

National Volleyball championship wraps up the season at Humber

Two Ontario college women's volleyball teams made it to nationals: Nipissing Lakers and Humber Hawks. Neither of the teams actually managed to win more than a single game.

The 2009 CCAA Women's Volleyball Championships were held at Nipissing University in the great province of Ontario. Home advantage certainly did not help the Lakers as they dropped two of their three games in the CCAA playoffs.

In Nipissing's first game, they lost 3-1 to the Red Deer Queens. Game two proved no different as the Lakers were shutout by Vancouver Island Mariners. A win finally graced Nipissing's path when they defeated the lowly Mount Allison Mounties 3-1. The Mounties, out of three games, were actually shutout in the previous two games before they finally won a set against the Lakers.

The Humber Hawks did not fare so well, either. The only Humber Hawk win also came against the lowly Mounties by winning 3-0. The Hawks lost 3-0 to eventual bronze medalist, FX Garneau Les Élans, and also lost another game to Red Deer Queens 3-1. The gold medalists were UBC Okanagan Heat, who won 3-2 over MacEwan Griffins.

Humber did receive another Coach of the Year award - the other being men's basketball coach, Darrell Glenn—as Head Coach Chris Wilkins won the 2009 Women's Volleyball CCAA Coach of the Year away. The Hawks, under Coach Wilkins, have won 10 provincial medals, five of which are gold, under his 11-year stint at Humber. Wilkins also led the Hawks to a perfect 21-0 record this season.

Landis Doyle, from Humber College, and Nipissing's Stefanie Hancock secured the All-Canadian spots in the province. Karlee Diesing, who plays for Capilano University, snagged the 2009 CCAA Women's Volleyball Player of the Year award after she led her team to second place in the BCCAA (British Columbia Colleges' Athletic Association). Diesing finished top 10 in kills, digs, and aces after her season finished.

While Ontario suffered in the Women's division, they did a bit better in the Men's. The Algonquin Thunder showed to be the better Ontarian team as they collided with the Seneca Sting. In 3 sets, Algonquin proved dominate as they shutout the Sting 3-0. The win came after the Thunder were shutout by University of the Fraser Valley Cascades on day one.

After getting the taste of a win, the Thunder proceeded to shutout the Keyano Huskies, the home team, which notched them their second win. Algonquin now headed off to the bronze medal game where they would lose 3-1 to the Camosun Charges.

The Seneca Sting managed to only win one of their three games. One loss came to the Thunder, and the other came to eventual gold medalists the MacEwan Griffins when they lost 3-2. The only win by the Sting came when they won 3-1 over the University of New Brunswick Saint John.

While Keyano Huskies won only one of their three games, they took home two prestigious awards: CCAA Men's Volleyball Coach of the Year award, and CCAA Men's Volleyball Player of the Year award. Keyano's Head Coach, Trent Mason, earned the award after improving the team to 17-3 from last year's dismal 8-14.

Keyano's Alwyn Piche snagged Player of the Year with a stunning performance. On top of leading the ACAC (Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference) in kills and aces, Piche also became the Huskies all-time leader in kills (778), aces (99), and digs (316). Furthermore, Piche made it to the All-Canadian team.

For Ontario's Western Conference, Redeemer's Ryan Talsma took home the honours, while Steve Pawlczyk from Mohawk College took home the Eastern Conference honours for the All-Canadian team.
Interrobang social media accounts
Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS
Subscribe to the Interrobang Newsletter
Fanshawe Awesome Deals - Save Now!
Right side promo banner
Interrobang social media accounts
Facebook Twitter Instagram RSS